Courtesy: ISU Athletics
Sycamore Men Win Three Events, Women Set Two School Records At Drake Relays
Courtesy:ISU Athletics



DES MOINES, IOWA - Indiana State senior Jeremiah Vaughan, sophomore Greggmar Swift, and the men's shuttle hurdle relay team all picked up wins as the 103rd Drake Relays came to a close Saturday at Drake Stadium. The Indiana State women's shuttle hurdle and sprint medley relays established new school records on the final day of competition.


"We had a good day," John McNichols, Indiana State men's track & field coach, said. "We had a heck of a meet in 2001 and this one was right up there as one of our bests. The guys did a great job."


Vaughan was the final Indiana State competitor Saturday and ran to victory in the men's 1,500 meters with a time of 3:50.47. He outran a pair of Drake competitors for the victory including sophomore Omet Kak (3:52.00) and junior Charles Lapham (3:52.93).


Swift ran his third 110 meter hurdle race of the day and captured the individual title by an eyelash, finishing in 13.72 and seven hundredths of a second ahead of Kennesaw State senior Kendall Parks who was second in 13.79. Ohio State sophomore Demoye Bogle was third in 13.81. Swift's time moves him to third on the Sycamore all-time list behind Aubrey Herring's 2001 time of 13.36 and Chris Lancaster's 1990 time of 13.45.


The Sycamore men's shuttle hurdle relay team of sophomore Duane Brown, sophomore Greggmar Swift, junior Robert Webb, and senior Maurice Lyke ran the fastest time in the preliminaries Saturday morning as they won the third heat with a time of 57.89. The Indiana State team was even faster in Saturday afternoon's final as they won the event with a time of 56.42 seconds in defeating North Dakota State (58.05) and Northern Iowa (58.96).


"The shuttle hurdle team was a lot of fun to watch," McNichols said. "Duane Brown led us off running against an All-American from Arkansas and kept it even. We followed with Lyk who did the same thing that Greggmar did earlier in the preliminaries, open it up. Bobby held our lead and then Greggmar ran a hand timed 13.4 that just sealed the deal."


The winning time is the second fastest in school history. Current Indiana State assistant coach Jeff Martin led off the 2001 shuttle hurdle relay team that won the event in a time of 55.06 seconds. Also on that team were Ryan Johnson, Larry Hines, and Aubrey Herring. That time remains the Drake Relays and Drake Stadium record.


The Sycamore women's 4x100 shuttle hurdle relay actually set the record twice during Saturday's competition. Freshman Carmelia Stewart, junior Stacia Weatherford, sophomore Kelly Steffen, and senior Sarah Snapp ran to a school record time of 57.40 in finishing second of the opening heat in the preliminaries.


The Indiana State team advanced to the finals with the third fastest time in the preliminaries and finished third in the finals by setting another school record with a time of 57.21. Lincoln (Mo.) University won the event (55.22) with Northern Iowa second (56.02).


"I am very proud of how they focused on the competition," Angela Martin, Indiana State women's track & field coach, said.


Not to be outdone was the Indiana State women's sprint medley relay team that finished second overall in a school record time of 3:51.19. Senior Jaquelle Spencer, junior Macey Black, senior Kaci Smith, and junior Leeann Michl combined to win the second section of the event and finish just behind Arkansas (3:46.48) and ahead of South Dakota (3:53.25) in the timed final.


"The positive attitudes and work that the entire team has put in is beginning to show," Martin said. "They are stepping up to some great challenges."


Martin was a member of the shuttle hurdle relay team and the sprint medley relay team that have held their respective school records since 2000.


Martin (formerly Bruecker) anchored the shuttle hurdle relay team to a 58.31 finish during the 2000 season. Also on that team were Keli Walker, Kia Wells, and Katie Myhra. She was also the anchor on the sprint medley relay team that ran to a 3:47.13 finish during the 2000 season. Also on that team were Sariyu Shittu, La'Kisha Thomas, and Sheila Taylor.


In another connection between the 2000 and 2012 teams, Sheila Taylor was the high school coach for current Sycamore Carmelia Stewart at Wekiva High School in Apopka, Fla.


The Sycamore sprint medley relay team of sophomore Devin Price, junior Justin Baxtron, sophomore Kevin Piraino, and sophomore Brad Adams placed 10th overall with a time of 3:24.36. Indiana State finished fourth in a hotly contested second heat of the event and ran the fifth fastest time in Sycamore track & field history for the event.


The Indiana State men's distance medley relay team of sophomore Drew Gambill, sophomore Ray Skamay, senior Corey Hahn, and freshman Gabe Ocasio finished 15th overall in the event with a time of 10:07.23. The time is the fourth best in Indiana State history.


Three other individuals also competed for the Indiana State men at the Drake Relays Saturday.


Sycamore junior Dustin Betz ran the fifth fastest 3,000 meter steeplechase in Indiana State history as he placed fifth with a personal best time of 9:02.57. Eastern Illinois junior Graham Morris won the event with a time of 8:52.76.


Junior Brandon Pounds finished 17th in the men's discus throw with a distance of 163-feet-5-inches (49.80 meters) but came back to take fifth place in the hammer throw with a toss of 204-feet-4-inches (62.29 meters). DePaul senior Tim Nedow won the discus (191-feet-3-inches) while Florida junior Jeremy Postin won the hammer throw (232-feet-1-inch).


Senior Ernest Rollins finished 18th in the men's triple jump with a leap of 46-feet-3¼-inches (14.10 meters). Iowa senior Troy Doris won the event (53-feet-10¼-inches).


Three individuals also competed for the Indiana State women at the Drake Relays Saturday.


Weatherford followed up her performance in the shuttle hurdle relay with a fifth place finish in the women's 400 meter hurdles. The Sycamore junior ran a personal best and the second fastest time in school history as she won the opening heat in 58.35 which placed her fifth overall in the timed final. Iowa State senior Kianna Elahi won the event in 56.78.


Sophomore Kalli Dalton competed in the women's 3,000 meter steeplechase and finished 18th overall with a time of 11:00.29. Augustana's Kyle Blakeslee won the event in 10:18.61.


Junior Felisha Johnson did not place in the women's hammer throw after fouling on each of her first three attempts. Southern Illinois senior Jeneva McCall won the event (217-feet-0-inches).


"This is the best the women's team has done at this meet," Martin said. "We did not have any champions but we did have some great places."


Former Sycamore Kylie Hutson was also in competition on Saturday as she placed fifth in the women's pole vault special after clearing 13-feet-7 ¼-inches (4.15 meters). Jenn Suhr won the event by clearing 15-feet-3-inches (4.65 meters) to set a Drake Relays record.

Back to Soccer
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Tribune STar
Old National Bank
Uploaded Ad
Labor Link
Uploaded Ad