Uploaded Ad
Sycamore Loyalty Rewards App
Courtesy: ISU Athletics
Jake Odum A Finalist For Lou Henson Award
Courtesy:ISU Athletics
Ace Hunt


BOSTON -- Indiana State junior guard Jake Odum is among 25 finalists for the 2013 Lou Henson Award, it was announced today (Feb. 25). The award is presented annually to the top mid-major player in college basketball.


For the second straight year CollegeInsider.com is working with Point3 Basketball to promote the Lou Henson award "fan vote," which will constitute 33% of the final vote.


The Lou Henson Award is presented annually to the top Mid-Major player in Division I college basketball. The award is named in honor of Lou Henson who retired after a spectacular coaching career that lasted 41 years. When he left the game in 2005 he was sixth all-time in career Division I wins with 779. He is the winningest coach at both Illinois and New Mexico State. He is one of only 12 coaches in the history of the game to take two schools to the Final Four.


Odum is averaging a team-best 14.3 points per game, which ranks ninth in the MVC and his 4.7 assists per game are second in the league. One of the leading candidates for the Larry Bird MVC Player Of The Year Award, Odum is averaging 1.5 steals per game which is seventh-best in the league and he has made 163 free throws this season, which ranks sixth on the ISU single-season list.


Indiana State is 17-11, 9-7 MVC on the season heading into Wednesday's game inside Hulman Center against Drake. Tip-off is set for 7:05 p.m. (ET).


The 2013 Award will be presented at the CollegeInsider.com awards banquet in Atlanta, site of the men's NCAA Basketball Championship.


Doug McDermott of Creighton and Jackie Carmichael of Illinois State also represent the Missouri Valley Conference on the 25 man list of honorees.


Travis Bader 6-5 Jr.   Oakland
Billy Baron 6-2 Jr.   Canisius
Jerrelle Benimon 6-8 Jr.   Towson
Tommy Brenton 6-5 Sr.   Stony Brook
Ryan Broekhoff 6-7 Sr.   Valparaiso
Isaiah Canaan 6-1 Sr.   Murray State
Jackie Carmichael 6-9 Sr.   Illinois State
Will Cherry 6-1 Sr.   Montana
Ian Clark 6-3 Sr.   Belmont
Jake Cohen 6-10 Sr.   Davidson
D.J. Cooper 6-0 Sr.   Ohio
Matthew Dellavedova 6-4 Sr.   Saint Mary's
James Ennis 6-7 Sr.   Long Beach
Juan'ya Green 6-3 So.   Niagara
Tyler Haws 6-5 So.   BYU
Lamont Jones 6-0 Sr.   Iona
Jake Odum 6-4 Jr.   Indiana State
Jamal Olasewere 6-7 Sr.   LIU-Brooklyn
Zeke Marshall 7-0 Sr.   Akron
Ray McCallum 6-3 Jr.   Detroit
Doug McDermott 6-8 Jr.   Creighton
Mike Muscala 6-11 Sr.   Bucknell
Augustine Rubit 6-7 Jr.   South Alabama
Taylor Smith 6-6 Sr.   Stephen F. Austin


Back to Basketball
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Tribune STar
Old National Bank
Uploaded Ad
Labor Link
Uploaded Ad