Uploaded Ad
Courtesy: Tina Dechausay / ISU Media Relations
Sean Manaea Sweeps Cape Cod League Awards
Courtesy:ISU Athletics
Danny Pfrank

HYANNIS, Mass. - Rising junior left-handed pitcher Sean Manaea capped his stellar 2012 summer baseball season with the Hyannis Harbor Hawks of the Cape Cod Baseball League by claiming a pair of prestigious awards this week, earning the B.F.C. Whitehouse Top Pitcher Award and the Robert A. McNeece Outstanding Pro Prospect Award as announced by the league office on Monday.

Manaea finished his season with a 5-1 record and a 1.22 ERA, striking out 85 batters in 51.2 innings of work. The southpaw's 85 strikeouts this summer are the most since Daniel Bard fanned 82 during the 2005 season. The single-season record for strikeouts in the CCBL is 126 by Paul Mitchell in the summer of 1969. Manaea's 85 strikeouts are also the most since 2000, the earliest season of available statistics.

"It's been a great summer here on the Cape and I couldn't have asked for anything better in terms of my teammates, great competition and the kind of recognition this (season) has brought me," said Manaea after receiving both awards Monday during pre-game ceremonies at McKeon Park from CCBL Commissioner Paul Galop and CCBL President Judy Walden Scarafile.

The Wanatah, Ind., native got better as the summer progressed, winning each of his last five starts for Hyannis. Over those five outings, Manaea was 5-0 with a 0.26 ERA in 34 innings pitched while striking out 56 strikeouts and allowing just 13 hits and one walk.

Recent Top Pitcher Award Winners                                 Recent Outstanding Pro Prospect Award Winners
2012 - Sean Manaea (Indiana State)                        2012 - Sean Manaea (Indiana State)

2011 - Ryan Eades (LSU)                                               2011 - Victor Roache (Georgia Southern)
2010 - Grayson Garvin (Vanderbilt)                                 2010 - Tony Zych (Louisville)
2009 - Chris Sale (Florida Gulf Coast)                             2009 - Todd Cunningham (Jacksonville State)
2008 - Nick McCully (Coastal Carolina)                            2008 - Grant Green (Southern California)
2007 - Tom Milone (Southern California)                         2007 - Aaron Crow (Missouri)
2006 - Terry Doyle / Shaun Seibert                                 2006 - Matt Wieters (Georgia Tech)
2005 - Andrew Miller / Tim Norton                                  2005 - Andrew Miller (North Carolina)
2004 - Matt Goven (Georgia College)                               2004 - Tyler Greene (Georgia Tech)
2003 - Eric Beattie (LSU)                                                2003 - Wade Townsend (Rice)
2002 - Brian Rogers (Georgia Southern)                          2002 - Wesley Whisler (UCLA)
2001 - Chris Leonard (Miami (Ohio))                               2001 - Russ Adams (North Carolina)
2000 - Ben Crockett / Dan Krines                                    2000 - Bob Brownlie (Rutgers)
1999 - Rik Currier / Pat Pinkman                                    1999 - Mark Teixeira (Georgia Tech)

Back to Baseball
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Tribune STar
Old National Bank
Uploaded Ad
Labor Link
Uploaded Ad