Uploaded Ad
Courtesy: ISU Athletics
Indiana State University Awarded 2014 & 2016 NCAA Cross Country Championships, 2017 Great Lakes Regional
Courtesy:ISU Athletics




INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Indiana State University has been awarded the chance to host their 11th and 12th NCAA Division I Men’s & Women’s Cross Country National Championships during the 2014 and 2016 seasons. The NCAA made the announcement today.


The LaVern Gibson Championship Cross Country Course at the Wabash Valley Family Sports Center along with Indiana State University, the City of Terre Haute and the Missouri Valley Conference will host the following championships over the next four years:


NCAA Division I Cross Country Championships on November 22, 2014

NCAA Division I Cross Country Championships on November 19, 2016

NCAA Division I Great Lakes Regional on November 10, 2017


“When you look at the list of cities and venues that will host our championships, there is no doubt the experience across divisions and sports will likely be the best in NCAA history,” said Mark Lewis, NCAA executive vice president of championships and alliances. “The process was extremely thorough and allowed the sport committees to have some tremendous options, which will ultimately provide our student-athletes, coaches and fans the best experience possible.”


The Sycamores have hosted the NCAA Championships in 2002, 2004-2011 and 2013, as well as four years as the regional host in 1998-1999, 2001 and 2003.


The Sycamores will have hosted 12 NCAA Championships in 2016, which is second all-time to Michigan State University who hosted 26 times from the 1930’s to the 1960’s.


“Indiana State athletics is excited about hosting in 2014 and 2016,” Ron Prettyman, Director of Athletics at Indiana State University, said. “It shows the confidence that the NCAA has in our abilities to host a championship event in the city of Terre Haute. We want to thank our volunteers and community supporters for helping us attain this honor.”


The Sycamores hosted their 10th championship in 2013 after a brief absence when the meet went to Louisville in 2012. Louisville will be hosting the 2017 Division I Championship in 2017 along with the 2014 Division II Championship and the 2016 Division III Championship.


The location for the 2015 Championships for all three Divisions has not been announced as yet.


“Well obviously it’s an exciting time and a testament to our local organizing committee, Indiana State University, and the community of Terre Haute,” Jeff Martin, Indiana State Director of Championships, said. “Obviously the NCAA see’s us as a quality championship site. I am excited to be the meet director next year and in 2016.”


The new NCAA championship bid process creates the largest host site announcement ever, spanning 82 championships across a four-year cycle. Previously, selection announcements varied by sport. This process now gives the NCAA and host sites more time to plan each championship experience.


Bidding for 82 of the 89 NCAA championships began in July and 1,984 bid applications were ultimately submitted. Each sport committee, per division, selected the host sites it believed would provide the ultimate experience for the respective student-athletes, resulting in 523 total championships event sites awarded. The seven championships not included in the process due to preexisting site arrangements are: Division I baseball, Division I men’s basketball, Division I football, Division I men’s and women’s golf, Division I softball and Division III women’s ice hockey.


For more information on all of the NCAA championship sites awarded, log on to www.ncaa.com/site-selections.

Back to Cross Country
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Tribune STar
Old National Bank
Uploaded Ad
Labor Link
Uploaded Ad